News Archive

SCC student newspaper, The Bridge, won 18 awards in state competition

The Bridge staff 2011The staff of the Somerset Community College student newspaper, The Bridge, captured a record 18 awards at the Kentucky Intercollegiate Press Association (KIPA) Conference. The event was held recently at the Hyatt Regency in Louisville, Kentucky.

Other student newspapers in the same competition category as The Bridge were from Asbury College, Elizabethtown Community and Technical College, Georgetown College, Kentucky State University and Transylvania University. Newspapers published in 2010 were eligible for judging.

SCCs newspaper received nine first-place awards, two second-place awards, three third-place awards, and four honorable mention certificates.

Former managing editor JR Sroufe brought home six awards, including four first place nods.

Critley King, current managing editor, captured two first place awards, as did Chad Tyner.

I couldn't be happier for our students, said faculty advisor Jeff Harris. They put a great deal of time and effort into making The Bridge a newspaper that our campus community can be proud of, and its great to see them rewarded in this way. To bring home 18 awards from KIPA is a real achievement. The schools that they were competing against have well-established and impressive programs.

Other faculty advisors for the paper, Stuart Simpson and Erin Stephens agreed. The Bridge staff does a great job, Stephens said. They take their responsibilities very seriously, and that attitude is apparent in their work.

The following is a complete list of award winners from Somerset Community College:

First Place Awards:

Kristy Jackson and JR Sroufe for Personality Profile

Critley King for Feature Story

JR Sroufe for Review

Larissa Watkins for General Interest Column

JR Sroufe for Opinion Pages

JR Sroufe for Feature Page Layout

Critley King for Original Illustration

Chad Tyner for Informational Graphic

Chad Tyner for Advertising Design

Second Place Awards:

Jocelyn Daulton for Advertising Design

JR Sroufe for Front Page Layout

Third Place Awards:

Larissa Watkins and Stephanie Collins for Feature Story

Kristy Jackson for General Interest Column

JR Sroufe for Commentary

Sean Marcum for Advertising Design

Honorable Mentions:

Stephanie Collins for Personality Profile

Larissa Watkins for Personality Profile

Sean Marcum for Feature Story

Somerset Community College student newspaper, The Bridge, recently brought home 18 awards at the Kentucky Intercollegiate Press Association (KIPA) Conference. Front row: Larissa Watkins, Pulaski County. Middle row: Chad Tyner, Casey County; and Critley King, McCreary County. Back row: Sean Marcum, Pulaski County; and JR Sroufe, Pulaski County. Insert from top: Kristy Jackson, McCreary County; Jocelyn Daulton, Pulaski County; and Stephanie Collins, Pulaski County.