Burkesville student named recipient of 2010 James H. Anderson Award for outstanding first year PTA student | SCC

News Archive

Burkesville student named recipient of 2010 James H. Anderson Award for outstanding first year PTA student

A Burkesville student has been named the recipient of the 2010 James H. Anderson Award for Outstanding First-Year PTA Student in Somerset Community Colleges Physical Therapist Assistant program. Chris Garland was named the winner of the award, which is presented annually to an outstanding SCC PTA first-year student. The award is named in honor of past SCC PTA Program Director James H. Anderson.

This is an especially meaningful award, stated Dr. Steve Hammons, who serves as the programs Academic Coordinator of Clinical Education. The recipient is deemed by his or her peers to be the student who will make the most significant impact upon the lives of their patients and on the future of the physical therapy profession. Chris manages to combine academic excellence, strong clinical performance, community service and commitment to the physical therapy profession perfectly.

Garland is active in a number of campus community service activities. She serves as president of her class and is an active member of the SCC Physical Therapy Student Organization. She has participated in a number of campus activities, including the SCC PTA Program Open House Event and a presentation for the Girls Engaged in Math and Science program. She is a member of Phi Theta Kappa Honorary and is the recipient of the Edgar Gadberry Scholarship to attend SCC. She has volunteered with Kentucky Special Olympics and TJ Samson's Discovery Academy Camp in the past.

As a member of the American Physical Therapy Association (APTA), Garland has participated in fundraising efforts for student scholarships, the PT-PAC and physical therapy research and attended the Kentucky Physical Therapy Associations (KPTA) Advocacy Day at the Capitol in Frankfort. She attended the APTA National Student Conclave in Miami, Florida in 2009 and plans to run for national office in the organization in 2010. She is the KPTA Student Facebook page administrator and has twice been published in the APTAs national student newsletter, the Pulse. She has spoken to students at SCC and the University of Kentucky about the importance and value of membership in the APTA.

Garland is a member of the APTAs Clinical Electro amp; Wound Management, Geriatrics, Health Policy amp; Administration, Pediatrics and Research Sections and will represent Kentucky at the Federal Advocacy Forum in Alexandria, Virginia, this spring. She is currently employed as a physical therapy technician at Cumberland County Hospital. She is scheduled to graduate from the program in May, 2011.

The past four winners of the James H. Anderson Award went on to receive national recognition from the APTA. Heather Tuel of Somerset received the award in 2006 and was later named the 2007 APTA National PTA Student of the Year. Isaac Mills of Corbin, the 2007 winner, and was named the 2008 APTA National Orthopaedic Student of the Year. The winner in 2008, Rod Edwards of Somerset, was named the 2009 APTA National PTA Student of the Year. Valarie Cooper of Jamestown received the award in 2009 and was the 2010 APTA National Student of the Year, National Orthopaedic Student of the Year and recipient of the Mary McMillan Scholarship Award.

For more information about the SCC PTA Program, contact the program director at ron.meade@kctcs.edu.