News Archive

Somerset Community College and Western Kentucky University Sign Joint Admissions Agreement

Students now have a seamless path to a four-year degree that leads through Somerset Community College and Western Kentucky University.

WKU signing
SCC President Jo Marshall (left) and WKU President Gary Ransdell shake hands after signing a joint admissions agreement July 31 in Somerset.
SCC and WKU today signed a joint admissions agreement that will give students access to a full range of resources at both schools and create a smoother transfer process. The agreement was signed by SCC President Jo Marshall and WKU President Gary Ransdell at SCCs Harold Rogers Student Commons.

The goals of the partnership include:
Eliminating barriers for students in attaining their educational goals
Improving student success and degree attainment
Reducing the time to degree and the cost to students
Expanding student options for college services
Planning, developing and aligning instructional programs at the undergraduate level.

Our students always have been and always will be our first priority, said SCC President and CEO Dr. Jo Marshall. This agreement with Western Kentucky University will help our students easily transition to a four-year university to reach their goals and obtain their degrees. We are excited about this partnership and know our students will ultimately benefit from this agreement.

This program will provide the best of both institutions to students while allowing them to complete their associates degree at SCC and then continue their education at WKU, Dr. Ransdell said. SCC students who are jointly admitted will be on track to complete a four-year degree from the first day and can begin to take advantage of student services and activities that are available to all WKU students, including academic advising.

This is the seventh joint admissions agreement between WKU and a school in the Kentucky Community and Technical College System. WKU also has agreements with Owensboro Community and Technical College, Madisonville Community College, Henderson Community College, Hopkinsville Community College, Bowling Green Technical College and Elizabethtown Community and Technical College.

More than 970 students have been admitted into the joint admissions programs since the first ones began in 2009.

Education is vital to the economic prosperity of the region, Dr. Ransdell continued. By working together, we can continue to help meet the higher education needs in this region and in the Commonwealth.