Somerset Community College recognized a large group of outstanding students at Honors Night held at the London Community Center on Friday, April 23, 2010. After a welcome by Roger Angevine, Director of the Laurel Campus, and Dr. Tony Honeycutt, SCC Provost, special music was provided by Allison Spurlock, a Cosmetology student from London.

Bryson Fry of Somerset received the Academic Achievement Award in Chemistry, and Harry Hubler III of Monticello received Best Student in Chemistry.

In Computer Information Technology, Kody Burton of Somerset was honored for Academic Achievement.

The Cosmetology Program from the SCC Laurel Campus recognized Michele Buker of London, 1st place Job Skills Demo in SkillsUSA; Anna Miller of London, 1st place Esthetics in SkillsUSA; Allison Spurlock of London, 1st place Talent in SkillsUSA; Debra Vaughn of Corbin, 1st place Cosmetology in SkillsUSA; and Sheena Gibson of Corbin, 1st place Cosmetology in SkillsUSA and Outstanding Student.

The SCC Campus Cosmetology Program recognized Jaime Dadon of Burnside, Academic Excellence in SkillsUSA; Tina Gilreath of Somerset, Academic Excellence in SkillsUSA; and Joedda Wesley of Somerset, participating in SkillsUSA and winning 4th in state.

The SCC Clinton Center Cosmetology Program recognized three students for participating in SkillsUSA; Janeen Earwood of Albany, Chelsea Everly of Burksville, and Blake Roberts of Monticello.

The Criminal Justice Program honored Rebecca Nolan of East Bernstadt as the Laurel Campus Student of the Year and honored Michael Thorne Roberts of Monticello as the Somerset Campus Student of the Year. The Criminal Justice Academic Achievement Awards went to Ethan Lewis of London, Leslie Masters of McKee and Rebecca Nolan of East Bernstadt. The Criminal Justice Student Organization 110% Award went to Karen Brasfield and Kristi King, both of Somerset.

The Interdisciplinary Early Childhood Education Program honored Amanda Carnes of London as the Distinguished Graduate in the program and Alecia Howard of Somerset with the 110% Award.

The Electrical Technology and Engineering Technology Programs honored students for Outstanding Achievement. The students are: Gary Caldwell of Rockcastle County, Mark Holbrook of McCreary County, Stephen Wood of Casey County, Christopher Kyle Brown of Pulaski County, Matthew Dye of Pulaski County, Jeffery Eugene McGowan of Pulaski County, and Billy Pugh of Leslie County.

The English Department presented Anthony Evans of Tateville the John Douglass Writing Award.

The Mathematics Award went to Cody Mahn of London for his Outstanding Academic Performance in Calculus.

The Medical Assisting Program on the Laurel Campus honored Robin Johnson of London, Tina Meier of Pittsburg, April Slagle of Burnside and Barbara Fuson of Rockholds for Scholastic Achievement. Barbara Fuson also received the Perfect Attendance Award.

The Associate Degree Nursing Program recognized several students for Outstanding Academic Achievement. The students are: Vicky Albertson of Albany, Rebecca Chambers of Somerset, and Angela Thornton of Somerset.

The SCC Physical Therapist Assistant Program presented the James H. Anderson award to Chris Garland of Burkesville. Jimmy Smith of Glasgow was awarded the Outstanding Mentor Award, Jeff Tyree of London was awarded the Professionalism and Leadership Award and Sara Fyffe of London was awarded the Academic Excellence Award. Yulanda Bradshaw of Columbia was awarded the APTA Minority Scholarship Award, Outstanding PTSO Award and the Outstanding Mentor Award. Valarie Cooper of Jamestown received the Total Rehab Award for the Outstanding Second Year PTA Student, and was recognized for winning the APTA National Student of the Year and the APTA Orthopaedic Section National Student of the Year.

The SCC Psychology Department awarded Lee Adkins of Somerset the Academic Achievement Award, Tawana Eastridge of Campbellsville the Academic Achievement Award, Larry Brinson of Somerset the Leadership Award, Coreen Cogswell the Excellence in Critical Thinking Award and David Cogswell the Participation Award.

The SCC Radiography Program presented Christopher Lance Baldwin of Crab Orchard, Outstanding Clinical Achievement; Tonya Epperson of Nancy, Outstanding Patient Care Skills; Carolyn Johnson of Somerset, Outstanding Didactic Achievement; Elizabeth Meece of Somerset, Leadership Award; and Justin Eugene Jones, Outstanding Clinical Achievement. Recognition of National Honor Society Membership was given to Whitney McDonald of Monticello, Elizabeth Meece of Somerset, Carolyn Johnson of Somerset, Daisy McCune of Somerset, and Christopher Baldwin of Crab Orchard.

The Surgical Technology Program presented Elisha Hussey of Somerset the Exceptional Academic Excellence Award and the Professionalism Award.

Matthew Dye of Somerset was awarded the KCTCS Presidential Scholarship, Tawana Eastridge of Campbellsville was awarded the W.O. and Lois Newell Scholarship, Corey Fugate of London was awarded the William and Julia Cundiff Endowed Scholarship, Rhonda Jones of Corbin was awarded the W.O. and Lois Newell Scholarship, Lillie Morris of Monticello was awarded the William and Julia Cundiff Endowed Scholarship, and Susan Karriker of Somerset was awarded the American Association of Women in Community Colleges Scholarship.

Twenty-eight SCC students were named to the Whos Who Among American Community College Students. Those present were: Amanda Carnes of London, Valarie Cooper of Jamestown, Cynthia Dishman of Monticello, Kathleen Gastineau of Waynesburg, Elisha Hussey of Somerset, Amanda Napier of London, Daniel Padgett of Kings Mountain, Mira Spangler-Baker of Somerset and Rebekah Sperry of Edmonton.

Special recognition was given to Charlotte McConaha, an SCC Criminal Justice student from Parksville, Kentucky. McConaha won the KCTCS 2010 New Century Scholar and is recognized as the top community college student in Kentucky.

Phi Theta Kappa, an academic honor society for two year colleges, sponsored SCC Teacher of the Year Awards. Teacher of the Year for transfer or general education classes is April Spears. Wendy Mote won Teacher of the Year in a technical career, and winners of the Adjunct Teacher of the Year went to Melinda Allen, Larry Hill and Judy Sapp.

SCC President and CEO, Dr. Jo Marshall, presented the Distinguished Student of the Year Award to Mira Spangler-Baker of Somerset. Baker is Student Government President and is a member of the SCC Board of Directors.

Somerset Community College is a comprehensive two-year institution of higher education. SCC has campuses in Somerset and London, centers in Clinton, McCreary, Casey, and Russell Counties. The website is Call for admission and registration information toll free at 1-877-629-9722.