SCC Phi Theta Kappa Chapter wins state awards | SCC

SCC Phi Theta Kappa Chapter wins state awards

The Somerset Community College Omicron Zeta Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa was honored at the 2010 Kentucky Region Phi Theta Kappa Convention held March 12-13. Phi Theta Kappa is the academic honor society for two-year colleges.

The SCC Chapter received the Scholarship Hallmark Award, the Leadership Hallmark Award, and the Service Hallmark Award. The SCC chapter swept the Hallmark Awards category. They also won the Kentucky Region Distinguished Chapter Award.

Charlotte McConaha, the Vice-President of Service for the Omicron Zeta Chapter, was named the Kentucky 2010 New Century Scholar. This, in effect, makes McConaha the top community college student in Kentucky, based upon her application to the All-USA Academic Team Competition. This is the second time a student from Somerset Community College has been named the New Century Scholar. David Evans was so honored in 2008.

In addition to being named the Kentucky New Century Scholar, McConaha received the Distinguished Chapter Officer Award and named to the 2010 KCTCS All-State Academic Team.

Johnna Atkinson-Bigelow, a Communications Professor at SCC and the faculty advisor for Phi Theta Kappa, received the Distinguished Chapter Advisor Award

I am so proud of the members of the Omicron Zeta Chapter, Atkinson-Bigelow said. I want to thank everyone for the support you provide to Phi Theta Kappa.

The state convention awards put the SCC Omicron Zeta Chapter in a position to compete for awards at the Phi Theta Kappa International Convention to be held in Orlando, Florida, on April 8-10.

To be eligible for induction into the SCC Omicron Zeta Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa a student must have completed at least 12 transferable credit hours of college level work and have a cumulative grade point average of 3.5 or higher.

Phi Theta Kappa, the International Honor Society of the two-year colleges, has recognized academic excellence since 1918. The Society is comprised of more than 1,250 chapters at community, technical and junior colleges in all 50 of the United States, in Canada, Germany, U.S. Territories, the Marshall Islands, Micronesia, the United Arab Emirates, the Republic of Palau and the British Virgin Islands, making it the largest and most prestigious honor society serving two-year colleges. Membership is based primarily upon academic achievement. The organization offers a myriad of opportunities for scholarships, intellectual enrichment and personal development through programs based on the Society's Hallmarks.

Every year the Kentucky Community and Technical College System provides real opportunity to real people transforming the economy of the entire state by transforming the lives of the people who live in it. Help us continue transforming lives and our states economy by joining the Kentuckians for Community and Technical Colleges at

Somerset Community College is a comprehensive two-year institution of higher education. SCC has campuses in Somerset and London, centers in Clinton, McCreary, Casey, and Russell Counties. The website is Call for admission and registration information toll free at 1-877-629-9722.

KCTCS serves the Commonwealth through 16 community and technical college districts that form a seamless system of 67 campuses open or under construction. KCTCS colleges change lives by providing accessible and affordable education and training through academic and technical associate degrees; diploma and certificate programs in occupational fields; pre-baccalaureate education; adult, continuing and developmental education; customized training for business and industry; and distance learning. For more information, visit