KCTCS Honors Outstanding Faculty and Staff | SCC

COVID-19 Updates

Spring classes started online March 18, and will continue online through the spring semester. Faculty and staff are available online, by phone and by email to help students navigate a new way of taking classes. Please refer to our  COVID-19 webpage  for the latest updates.

Stay Healthy. Stay Informed. 

News Archive

KCTCS Honors Outstanding Faculty and Staff

Tanya Cowan
Lois McWhorter
Kathy Lewis

Fifty faculty and staff from the Kentucky Community and Technical College System (KCTCS), including three from Somerset Community College (SCC), were recognized for their leadership and significant achievements at an awards ceremony held Monday, May 14, at the Crowne Plaza Hotel in Louisville.

Statewide honors went to three individuals who not only supported their colleges, but also the entire System. Tess Burns, web services manager at Gateway Community and Technical College, was honored as the 2012 Administrative Staff Award of Excellence recipient. Beverly Atwood, chief academic affairs officer at Hopkinsville Community College, was honored as the Support Staff Award of Excellence recipient. Terry Lutz, professor and program coordinator for the Communications Arts Technology at Jefferson Community and Technical College, was honored as the Faculty Award of Excellence recipient.

Each of the 16 KCTCS colleges selected an outstanding administrative staff member, support staff member and faculty member. Two individuals (one support staff and one administrative staff) from the KCTCS System office were also honored.

Burns, Atwood and Lutz were chosen for statewide honors by a committee of their peers. Each received $1,000 to be used for the professional development experience of their choice.

Selecting outstanding faculty and staff is never an easy task, since there are so many hardworking, dedicated KCTCS employees across the state. said KCTCS President Michael B. McCall.

Both faculty and staff honorees were nominated by their college for their innovative and significant achievements.

Those honored from Somerset Community College include:
Administrative Staff Award: Tanya Cowan, administrative assistant, health sciences division
Staff Award: Lois McWhorter, associate dean, business and professional services
Faculty Award: Kathy Lewis, professor, mathematics and natural science