News Archive

International Honor Society Award Named for SCC President and CEO Dr. Jo Marshall

dr marshall
Above: Dr. Jo Marshall, President and CEO of Somerset Community College has been honored by Phi Theta Kappa, the honor society for community college students, through the creation of the Jo Marshall Leadership Award Endowment (Marshall Award).
marshall medallion
Above: The inaugural Marshall Award will be given out at the 2013 Phi Theta Annual Convention.Somerset Community College President and CEO Dr. Jo Marshall is being recognized internationally by Phi Theta Kappa through an award bearing her name.

Phi Theta Kappa, the honor society for community college students, recently announced the creation of the Jo Marshall Leadership Award Endowment (Marshall Award), which was created to encourage the professional growth of Phi Theta Kappa advisors at community colleges. The award carries a $5,000 stipend for the completion of a project that leads to personal leadership growth beyond the completion of professional degrees.

Dr. Jo Marshall has been honored by Phi Theta Kappa as a Faculty Scholar, Distinguished Regional Coordinator and Giles Distinguished Advisor. Dr. Marshall was one of the first recipients of the Mosal Award and is an International Honorary Member of Phi Theta Kappa.

Dr. Marshall has served as a leader in Phi Theta Kappa in many capacities as advisor for the Pi Pi Chapter at Jefferson State Community College for more than 30 years, as Alabama Regional Coordinator, as the Regional Coordinator Representative and Vice Chair of the Phi Theta Kappa Board of Directors and as Vice Chair of the Phi Theta Kappa Foundation Board of Trustees.

She has worked to provide exemplary professional development opportunities for chapter advisors as a Leadership Development Certification Program Facilitator. Dr. Marshall was also part of the team that took Phi Theta Kappas Leadership Development Program to Singapore. In addition, she is the founder and facilitator of the annual Faculty Scholar Conference, which prepares a select group of advisors to lead seminar groups at the Societys Honors Institute.

It is only appropriate that Phi Theta Kappa's most prestigious leadership development award carry the name of Jo Marshall. Dr. Marshall has served in nearly every leadership post in Phi Theta Kappa -- embracing each as a means by which to make Phi Theta Kappa stronger for all stakeholders, said Phi Theta Kappa Executive Director Dr. Rod Risley. She has demonstrated through her career that leadership can be taught, and that opportunity should be given whenever possible for others to realize their leadership potential. The Marshall Awards serve to raise aspirations of our chapter advisors to step forward, lead and serve.

The first Marshall Awards will be presented at the 2013 Association of Chapter Advisors Luncheon at the Annual Convention in San Jose.

Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society, headquartered in Jackson, Mississippi, is the largest honor society in higher education with 1,280 chapters on college campuses in all 50 of the United States, Canada, Germany, the Republic of Palau, Peru, the Republic of the Marshall Islands, the Federated States of Micronesia, the British Virgin Islands, the United Arab Emirates and U.S. territorial possessions. More than 2.5 million students have been inducted since its founding in 1918, with approximately 135,000 students inducted annually.