Important Notice

alert iconSCC is closed December 22, 2014 - January 4, 2015 for Winter break and will resume normal hours on January 5. The call center remains open 24/7/365 at 855-664-6722.
[More Info]
banner image of male student_workforce solutions

Workforce Solutions

Personal enrichment and job training for a lifetime of learning

Somerset Community College's Workforce Solutions Department offers customized short-term training, technical skills upgrades, training assistance to industry, Lineman, and CDL Training, as well as Proprietary and Community Education programs.

Mission Statement

The Office of Workforce Solutions of Somerset Community College will provide short-term training, technical skills, and customized training to business and industry. Adult, community and continuing education will add to the college's mission by providing proprietary training and lifelong learning opportunities. The Office of Workforce Solutions will actively participate in the development of a vibrant community in the area we serve. 

 

Gems logo

GEMS (Girls Exploring Math and Science) 

Conference for eighth grade girls targets those who might be interested in careers in math, science, engineering, information technology, or health sciences.

  • "This was awesome! I can't believe I had this much fun!"
  • "Really enjoyed the hands on activities"
  • "I loved it!"

G2-TECS (Guys Geared Up for Technology, Engineering, Computers, and Science)

Guys Geared Up for Technology, Engineering, Computers, and Science. This program targets eighth-grade boys who are interested or might be interested in careers in math, science, engineering, technology, or health sciences.

 

Workforce Solutions Staff 

Dean - Applied Technology
Roger Angevine
Phone: 606/878-4801
Email: roger.angevine@kctcs.edu

Interim Associate Dean
Program Facilitator/Industry
Alesa Johnson
606/451-6693
alesa.johnson@kctcs.edu

Workforce Development Liaison
Greg Fryman
606/451-6694
greg.fryman@kctcs.edu

Program Facilitator/Enrollment Management
David Gilliam
606/451-6695
kenneth.gilliam@kctcs.edu

Coordinator/Continuing Education
Jil Swearingen
606-451-6696
jil.swearingen@kctcs.edu

Transitions Coordinator
Karen Plagge
606-451-6786
karen.plagge@kctcs.edu

Administrative Assistant
Valerie Hogan
606-451-6797
valerie.hogan@kctcs.edu

Office Support
Chasity Fletcher
606/451-6692
cfletcher0044@kctcs.edu

Lineman Training/Coordinator
Dean Rhodes
606-451-6699 Phone
606-875-1890 Cell
606-274-1318 Fax
dean.rhodes@kctcs.edu

Lineman Training/Administrative Assistant & Recruiter
Carol Wesley 
606 451-6697 Phone
606 875-2895 Cell
606-274-1318 Fax
carol.wesley@kctcs.edu