banner_Academics 2012

Transitional Education

Somerset Community College’s Transitional Education Division offers courses in mathematics, reading, student success, and writing to help prepare our students for entry-level courses. Students who score below a 19 in mathematics, 20 in reading or 18 in writing on the ACT or those that did not take the ACT are required to take the Compass. SCC uses the student’s Compass scores to place them in to the appropriate courses to ensure student success in entry-level courses. Please see the KCTCS Student Assessment & Placement Policy for additional information. If you need to take the Compass contact the SCC Assessment Center.

We are currently redesigning our reading (RDG) and writing (ENC) courses to ensure they are efficient for the student. Our mathematics (MAT) courses have already undergone a renovation with great success.  Below you will find out more about each of our offerings.

Transitional Writing – ENC 90/91

The writing courses prepare students for college level English (ENG 101) & other 100 level courses. Our ENC 90 and ENC 91 courses are combined in one classroom & offer students an accelerated pathway. With the accelerated pathway it is possible for students to complete their ENC course at midterm & begin the next one in the sequence if needed.  Both ENC courses are available online but does not have the same acceleration pathway as our in seat courses. 

Transitional Reading – RDG 20/30/185

Our reading courses prepare students for reading college level materials. New for fall 2013 our RDG 20 and 30 will be combined in one classroom. We will also be offering students an accelerated option to move students out of the course quicker while still focusing on their needs. Our RDG 185 course is offered each semester, usually through ITV. We only offer RDG 30 at this time online online but it does not offer the acceleration pathway. For more information about our RDG 20/30 Redesign please read “RDG Redesign Handbook 2013.”

Transitional Math – MAT 55/65/85

Our math courses have recently been redesigned. What this means for our students is that they can move through the courses at their own pace getting one-on-one attention when they need it. Each of our math courses have been modularized, broken down in to units of study. All of our MAT 55/65/85 courses are taught using the Pearson MyMathLab program. Once students enter the course they must take a pre-test which allows us to see where students are at based on the curriculum. As students are working through the course they have one-on-one assistance provided by instructors & tutors. Our MAT students also have access to videos created by our instructors on and off campus. Our goal with our MAT redesign is to help students move through MAT courses efficiently. It is possible for students to complete one MAT course and begin on the next in the sequence in one semester. Since our redesign we have had many students’ complete two MAT courses in one semester. When students do this they receive credit for both courses however, they only pay for one! Some of our MAT courses are available online each semester. For more information about our mathematics redesign please read Redesign “At A Glance.” 

Achieving Academic Success – FYE 105

This course introduces new students to strategies that promote academic, interpersonal, and intrapersonal success in the college environment. Aims to foster a sense of belonging, promote engagement in the curricular and co-curricular life of the college, and provide opportunities for students to develop academic plans that align with career and life goals.

Faculty
___________________________

Adjunct Faculty
___________________________

Michael Bloomingburg
(606) 878-4796
michael.bloomingburg@kctcs.edu
Michael Bloomingburg web page
Marci Randall
(606) 451-6875
marci.randall@kctcs.edu
Marci Randall web page
Mandy Davis
(606) 451-6705
mandy.davis@kctcs.edu
Rena Matika
rmatika0002@kctcs.edu
Kim Cleberg – Associate Dean
(606) 451-6759
kim.cleberg@kctcs.edu
Kim Cleberg web page 
April Spears
(606) 451-6656
april.spears@kctcs.edu
April Spears web page
Martha Deitz
martham.deitz@kctcs.edu
Marcus Mitchell
marcus.mitchell@kctcs.edu
Eric Deaton
(606) 878-4713
eric.deaton@kctcs.edu
Eric Deaton web page 
Deanna Spring
(606) 451-6949
deanna.spring@kctcs.edu
Deanna Spring web page
Randy Frye
(606) 423-3378
rfrye0004@kctcs.edu
Carolyn Pennington
cpennington0054@kctcs.edu
Jamie Foster - Coordinator
(606) 451-6849
jamie.foster@kctcs.edu
Jamie Foster web page
Kim Toby
(606) 451-6658
kimberly.toby@kctcs.edu
Kim Toby web page
Wanda Frye
(606) 423-3378
wfrye0001@kctcs.edu
Bill Phelps
(606) 451-6709
bill.phelps@kctcs.edu
Jacob Held - Instructional Specialist Somerset
(606) 451-6733
jacob.held@kctcs.edu
Jacob Held web page
Ron Tomlinson
(606) 451-6869
ron.tomlinson@kctcs.edu
Gwen Grider
(606) 303-4117
gwen.grider@kctcs.edu
Mystie Phelps
(606) 376-4260
mphelps0048@kctcs.edu
Irene Larason
(270) 858-6512
irene.larason@kctcs.edu
Nikki Ware
(606) 451-6914
nikki.ware@kctcs.edu
Nikki Ware web page
  Sarah Hacker
shacker0008@kctcs.edu
Beth Rodgers
(606) 303-1663
jrodgers0050@kctcs.edu
Kenny Lunsford - Instructional Specialist London
(606) 878-4795
kenny.lunsford@kctcs.edu
Kenny Lunsford web page
Tammy Woodall
Administrative Assistant
(606) 451-6704
tammy.woodall@kctcs.edu
  Stephanie Harmon
stephaniel.harmon@kctcs.edu
Jim McFeeters
(606) 451-6819
jim.mcfeeters@kctcs.edu
  Angela Hayes
angela.hayes@kctcs.edu
      Larry Hill
lhill0006@kctcs.edu
Cordellya Smith
csmith0644@kctcs.edu
      Charity Ikerd
charity.ikerd@kctcs.edu
Karen Smith
ksmith0091@kctcs.edu
      Ed Kent
edward.kent@kctcs.edu
Sarah Smith
ssmith0042@kctcs.edu
     

Bryson Loudermilk
bloudermilk0002@kctcs.edu

Janella Sullivan
jsullivan0067@kctcs.edu
        Audra Tomlinson
        Vickie Warren
victoria.warren@kctcs.edu
        Necha Willams
nwilliams0069@kctcs.edu
        Allen Wright
allen.wright@kctcs.edu