1st year advising banner

First Year Advising

1st Year Advising Syllabus (pdf)
Schedule your advising appointment today! 

Somerset Campus
Harold Rogers Student Commons, Room 208
Tel: (606) 677-8310

Laurel Campus
Health Sciences Building 3, Room 122
Tel: (606) 878-4833

Appointment Hours:
Monday - Thursday
8:00 am - 4:30 pm
Walk-in Hours:
Friday
8:00 am - 4:30 pm
Meetings with Advisors available after 4:30 by appointment.

1st Year Advising Mission Statement

The First Year Advising Center provides academic guidance to empower students to become self-directed learners and decision makers as they move toward their second year advisor.

1st Year Advising Vision Statement

The First Year Advising Center plans to develop and implement an educational plan consistent with the student’s personal values, goals and career plans as well as implementing a successful transition from First Year Advisor to an appropriate faculty or second year advisor.

Meet Our Advisors on the Somerset Campus

Meet Our Advisors on the Laurel Campus

Shawn Anderson

Shawn Anderson
Academic Advisor
Somerset Campus North
(606) 677-8306
shawn.anderson@kctcs.edu

Jami Evans Jami Evans
Academic Advisor
Laurel Campus North
(606) 878-4779
jami.evans@kctcs.edu
Louie Childers Louie Childers
Academic Advisor
Somerset Campus North
(606) 451-6832
louie.childers@kctcs.edu
Angela Haynes pic Angela Swim
Academic Advisor
Somerset Campus (Monday, Wednesday and Thursdays)
London Campus (Tuesday and Fridays)
Somerset (606) 677-8307
London (606) 878-4837
Angela.swim@kctcs.edu
Gail Stringer Gail Stringer
Academic Advisor /Coordinator
Somerset Campus North
(606) 451-6860
gail.stringer@kctcs.edu
Teresa Hinkle Teresa Hinkle
Academic Advisor
Laurel Campus North
(606) 878-4834
teresa.hinkle@kctcs.edu
 Noel Williams Noel Williams
Academic Advisor
Somerset Campus North
(606) 677-8311
noel.williams@kctcs.edu
 Trent Pool  

Trent Pool
Academic Advisor /Coordinator
Laurel Campus North
(606) 878-4783
trent.pool@kctcs.edu

Kim Cleberg

Kim Cleberg
1st Year Advising Director
Somerset Campus North
(606) 451-6759
kim.cleberg@kctcs.edu

Meet Our Advisors at the Centers

RThurman Casey Center
Rebecca Thurman
First Year Academic Advisor
606-679-8501 ext. 15101
rebecca.thurman@kctcs.edu
Tuesday  
10:00 am – 6:30 pm
JCampbell
McCreary Center
Bldg. 1, Room 125b  
Jennifer Campbell
First Year Academic Advisor
Office: 606-376-7502
Cell:  606-305-9394
jennifer.campbell@kctcs.edu
Wednesday & Thursday
ABeaudoin Clinton Center Room 103C
Amy Beaudoin
First Year Academic Advisor
606-387-3785
amy.beaudoin@kctcs.edu
Wednesday & Thursday   
9:00 am – 4:30 pm
JCampbell Russell Center Room 112
Jennifer Campbell
First Year Academic Advisor
Office: 270-858-6515
Cell:  606-305-9394
jennifer.campbell@kctcs.edu
Monday & Tuesday